1. Home
  2. >
  3. Georgians for a Healthy...

Georgians for a Healthy Future’s First Annual Consumer Health Awards

Georgians for a Healthy Future’s First Annual Consumer Health Awards

September 9, 2015 6:30 pm
The Park Tavern, Atlanta






Thank you for making Georgians for a Healthy Future’s First Annual Consumer Health Impact Awards a huge success!

On September 9th, 150 advocates, legislators, friends and family joined us at Park Tavern for a wonderful night. From pictures on the glamour wall to silent auction bid-wars, it was a perfect night. Linda Smith Lowe, Jeff Cornett, The Health Initiative, Representative Pat Gardner, and Senator Chuck Hufstetler were honored for their dedication to the health of Georgians. Check our video below recognizing Linda Lowe, for whom the Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award was named.


To see pictures and tweets from the event, check out our storify!

All event photos can be found on our Facebook page here.




Jeff Cornett, Vice President of Research and Public Policy Hemophilia of Georgia
Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award 

The Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award is given each year to an advocate whos work advances access to quality, affordable health care in Georgia. Nominees can be either professional advocates or volunteer advocates and must place a focus on vulnerable populations in their work and must work to achieve policy change. This award is named in honor of Linda Smith Lowe. Linda has dedicated her career to serving as an advocate on behalf of underserved Georgians who need a voice on health and human services issues.


The Health Initiative
Community Impact Award

The Community Impact Award is given each year to an individual or organization who has made an exceptional contribution to the health of their community in the past year. The impact of this contribution can be either at the individual, local, or state level. Nominees must work with individuals or local organizations to drive advancements in the health of the population served. Nominees may be health care providers, enrollment assisters, health educators, or others.


Representative Pat Gardner
Senator Chuck Hufstetler
Powerhouse Policymaker Awardees

The Powerhouse Policymaker Awards are given each year to local or state policymakers in Georgia who have exhibited excellence and courage in championing health issues in the public policy arena. Award recipients will have a particular focus on consumers or vulnerable populations and will have worked to advance our vision of a day in which all Georgians have access to the quality, affordable health care they need to lead healthy lives and contribute to the health of their communities.



Event Sponsors


Health Hero

Healthcare Georgia Foundation


Health Warrior

Piedmont Healthcare


Health Champion

Doug Busk & Cindy Zeldin
Abby Friedman & Harry Heiman
Statewide Independent Living Council


Health Guardian

AbsoluteCARE Medical Center & Pharmacy
AIDS Healthcare Foundation
Leslie Bryan & Bruce Maloy
Easter Seals Southern Georgia
Georgia Charitable Care Network
Georgia Watch
Hayslett Group
Andy Lord


Health Defender

Jay and Jackie Berkelhamer
Allyson Burroughs
CORE Benefit Solutions
Tracy Dubose
Julie Edelson
Chris and Bo Hagler
Beorgia Budget & Policy Insititute
Alan Essig
Chris and Bo Hagler
Georgia Equality
Monica Ponder
Don Rubin
AJ Robinson & Nicole Ellerine
Senator Nan Orrock
Peter & Margo Savitz
Mercy Care
UGA College of Public Health
United Way of Greater Atlanta