1. Home
  2. >
  3. Consumer Health Impact Award...

Consumer Health Impact Award Recipients


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Cindy Zeldin, Georgia Health Initiative
Community Impact Award: Vira Salzburn, Chatham County Safety Net Planning Council
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Commissioner John King, Georgia Department of Insurance
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Dante McKay, Office of Children, Young Adults, and Families at the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health & Developmental Disabilities


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Dawn AlfordGeorgia Council on Developmental Disabilities


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Sylvia CaleyClinical Professor, Georgia State University
Community Impact Award: CaringWorks
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Commissioner Frank Berry, Georgia Department of Community Health
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Representative Bob Trammell


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Jeff Graham, Executive Director, Georgia Equality
Community Impact Award: Chatham County Safety Net Planning Council
Community Impact Award: Georgia Council on Developmental Disabilities


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Tim Sweeney, Former Deputy Director & Health Policy Analyst, Georgia Budget & Policy Institute
Community Impact Award: Carole MadduxExecutive Director & CEO, Good Samaritan Health & Wellness Center
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Representative Stacey Abrams
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Senator P.K. Martin


Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award: Jeff CornettVice President of Research and Public Policy,  Hemophilia of Georgia
Community Impact Award: The Health Initiative
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Representative Pat Gardner
Powerhouse Policymaker Award: Senator Chuck Hufstetler

About GHF's Community Health Impact Awards


The Linda Smith Lowe Health Advocacy Award is given each year to an advocate whose work advances access to quality, affordable health care in Georgia Nominees can be either professional advocates or volunteer advocates and must place a focus on vulnerable populations in their work and must work to achieve policy change. This award is named in honor of Linda Smith Lowe. Linda dedicated her career to serving as an advocate on behalf of underserved Georgians who need a voice on health and human services issues.


The Powerhouse Policymaker Awards are given each year to local or state policymakers in Georgia who have exhibited excellence and courage in championing health issues in the public policy arena. Award recipients will have a particular focus on consumers or vulnerable populations and will have worked to advance our vision of a day in which all Georgians have access to the quality, affordable health care they need to lead healthy lives and contribute to the health of their communities.


The Community Impact Award is given each year to an individual or organization who has made an exceptional contribution to the health of their community in the past year. The impact of this contribution can be either at the individual, local, or state level. Nominees must work with individuals or local organizations to drive advancements in the health of the population served. Nominees may be health care providers, enrollment assisters, health educators, or others.